A400 double feed problem

Share your questions on all makes and models of shotguns. Please post chokes questions in the SRBC forum

Moderators: Quack Wacker NC, MM

A400 double feed problem

Postby Boogie1275 » Sat Jul 13, 2013 7:39 pm

hey guys, my A400 has a problem. this past duck/goose season, i shot a half a case of shells through it. mostly black cloud 3.5" in #2 shot. it worked great in the beginning of the season, but now i noticed that it keeps double feeding. i have completely torn down the gun and it still does it. and tips or suggestions? or is it time to take it back to the shop? thanks in advance!
Boogie1275
hunter
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 8:43 am
Location: northern ca


Re: A400 double feed problem

Postby mudpack » Sun Jul 14, 2013 5:26 am

Let me know if you find the cause. I bought a new SX3 this spring that has done the same thing since the first day I shot it.
I've taken it apart half a dozen times, checked everything I can, to no avail.
mudpack
hunter
 
Posts: 6198
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 10:40 am
Location: Central Kansas

Re: A400 double feed problem

Postby Fsbirdhouse » Sun Jul 14, 2013 9:08 am

Had a double feed problem just once with my A400.
Operator error. Didn't push my 3 1/2 in the tube far enough, and it must have slipped back.
Don't know if that's your problem, but I'd be double sure the shells are being pushed in far enough, just in case.
Fsbirdhouse
hunter
 
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 6:34 pm

Re: A400 double feed problem

Postby The Drake » Sun Jul 14, 2013 10:24 am

My friends A400 jams with 3.5" as well. Fine with 3"or trap loads.

Mud, as for you SX3, take it back. Get your cash back or a new gun
The Drake
hunter
 
Posts: 730
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 11:21 am
Location: Wisconsin

Re: A400 double feed problem

Postby Boogie1275 » Tue Jul 16, 2013 2:30 am

thanks for the response guys.... i was thinking of just shooting 3" shells this season, but to be honest, i can't justify paying that much for a gun to just shoot that size. do you think it could be an over-oiling issue? i am pretty careful with the amount i use, and just leave enough to leave a light film on the parts. now that i think about it, maybe i should try switching oils?
Boogie1275
hunter
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 8:43 am
Location: northern ca


Return to Shotgun Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Tgunz64 and 23 guests

cron