Should I get a new gun?

Share your questions on all makes and models of shotguns. Please post chokes questions in the SRBC forum

Moderators: Quack Wacker NC, MM

Should I get a new gun?

Postby brucemacp » Wed Jan 05, 2005 6:08 pm

I'm trying to decide whether or not to buy a new gun for next years season. I have an 870 Wingmaster that's 25 years old chambered at 2 3/4 cuz that's what most shotguns were chambered to shoot back then. Most guys now are shooting at least 3s and alot 3 1/2s. Whats the difference? Distance, pattern?? I still get lots of birds and I love the gun and I hate change but new technology is hard to overlook I just need to know why.

Thanks
Mac
Kobie the wonder dog says" Hunting seasons over? Wake me up around noon"
brucemacp
hunter

Postby 98ramtough » Wed Jan 05, 2005 6:14 pm

Here is the difference between 2 3/4, 3" and 3 1/2". Just more pellets in the air. There is no more speed or increased killing distance. I honestly can't tell a difference in ducks between 2 3/4 and 3 1/2. Geese I definately think a guy has a better chance with 3" or 3 1/2.

If your happy with your old gun why change? Sounds like you answered your own question....

:salude:
Last edited by 98ramtough on Thu Jan 06, 2005 12:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Quack
98ramtough
hunter

Postby Ducksbeus » Wed Jan 05, 2005 6:40 pm

Older guns are proned to having thier chokes blown out with steel, and, I always like buying a new gun...I say "yes"...Get Ya One!
I bought a new Nova that was on sale this year, and I tell ya....It knocks the crap out of em. I dont sky bust, unless it's the last day of the season, but, Im convinced the pattern I'm getting out of the Nova is better than that of my Beretta, wich is a "nicer" gun. I could have spent more, but, wanted a "do all cheapo" that I could still get sleep if it got knicked or had a problem. Shop around, shoulder a few...till ya find one that fits your pocketbook as well as your shoulder....Y'all have a nice day!
:salude: