Camo BPS vs synthetic

Share your questions on all makes and models of shotguns. Please post chokes questions in the SRBC forum

Moderators: Quack Wacker NC, MM

Camo BPS vs synthetic

Postby 95 taco » Sat Nov 02, 2013 4:00 pm

Hey guys, I'm new to duck hunting, but not hunting in general, I'm looking for a shotgun to fit a multi-purpose role (duck, upland game, trap, and turkey) and decided on a browning BPS.
I want the 3.5'' chamber so i'm not limited on what shells i can shoot, but that only comes with the synthetic stock (stalker model) and the camo models, from my reading the dura-touch doesn't hold up to well.

I would like thaw camo to break up the outline of the gun while hunting, so my options for the stalker model are a camo wrap (i'm a little leary of water getting under the wrap and rusting the gun), and painting (which i don't want to do to a new gun), and hydro-dipping is to expensive as i'm buying waders and a jacket + ammo.

I'm tempted to get the camo model and if the finish starts to wear put a small piece camo wrap where my hands go (i figure that's where it'll wear the fastest.

Anyway, What are y'alls opinions/experiences?
95 taco
hunter

Re: Camo BPS vs synthetic

Postby rmh » Sat Nov 02, 2013 4:10 pm

In my opinion only, camo on a gun is a scam. If it makes you feel better, ok, but how many years/decades/centuries were ducks hunted with just a black gun by guys wearing tan canvas coats?

I have the BPS Stalker, would have preferred the Hunter but I bought it used at such a great price I couldn't turn it down, but as far as the gun goes you can't do much better.
2013 Totals
1 2003 Ford Focus (harvested by a 6 point whitetail)
1 1991 Chevy Lumina (harvested by a PT Cruiser)
rmh
hunter

Postby R-Factor » Sat Nov 02, 2013 4:24 pm

Good choice on settling in on a BPS! :thumbsup: