What do you think about the Remington 870 Super Mag

Share your questions on all makes and models of shotguns. Please post chokes questions in the SRBC forum

Moderators: Quack Wacker NC, MM

What do you think about the Remington 870 Super Mag

Postby Burney0901 » Sun Nov 03, 2013 11:30 pm

Hello there, I am somewhat new to duck hunting and was wondering about the Remington 870 Super Mag. What are your guys thoughts on this gun?
Burney0901
hunter

Re: What do you think about the Remington 870 Super Mag

Postby gearhead80 » Mon Nov 04, 2013 4:40 pm

Some will tell you it's great. I disagree. I bought a black synthetic stocked black barrel model in 2010 brand new and it wouldn't extract the shell out of the chamber more than half the time. Didn't matter what rounds I used either. Very frustrating when hunting. Also with hunting in any kind of moisture it would turn brown in a matter of no time. Plus, after shouldering several other guns I found it didn't fit me worth a crap. So basically I rushed out to buy this gun and that was my fault. I ended up buying a new gun in 2012 which I am MUCH happier with. Gave the 870 to my brother and he took it all apart and machined the extractor parts so it functioned better. Still wasn't perfect. I have since sold that gun and replaced it with a Nova for my backup/lend out gun. Couldn't be happier.
If I ask a question, I don't want your opinion. I want facts.
Don't tell me something you think, tell me something you know.
It's easier to say I don't know, than make something up.
Although, being a forum the next guy will know more no matter what.
gearhead80
hunter

Postby rikasam2013 » Tue Nov 05, 2013 5:47 pm