Barrel Modification

Share your questions on all makes and models of shotguns. Please post chokes questions in the SRBC forum

Moderators: Quack Wacker NC, MM

Barrel Modification

Postby idhawkdrvr » Fri Feb 04, 2005 6:06 pm

I just bought a Remington 1100 12 ga with a 30" full choke barrel from a local pawn shop. Instead of buying a new barrel with a mod choke. A buddy told me about a place that will tap my current barrel to accept interchangeable chokes. Is this something to even consider??? This is my first shotgun I've ever bought and am somewhat new. Any thoughts or advice would be great!
idhawkdrvr
Newb

Postby Trois_beaux_canards » Fri Feb 04, 2005 8:39 pm

let me start by saying, I have no previous experience in having a barrel worked on to install removable chokes....I do know however, that if you were to do it at one of my local gunsmiths it would cost you $160 for the work and three chokes ($90 for one choke tube and the work). A whole new barrel is likely to cost you around $250. IMHO, thats savings! I'd say go for it, it sounds like you have got yourself a great gun. Congratulations!
Trois_beaux_canards
hunter

Postby AlaskaRedneK » Mon Feb 07, 2005 12:55 am

Congrats on yer new toy :salude: I agree w/Trois_beaux_canards

See ya in the marshes,

-SR
[b][size=14]REAL Trucks don't got Spark Plugs

"Hold the Shotguns.... Its hard to stear like this!"
AlaskaRedneK
hunter

Postby DUKHTR » Mon Feb 07, 2005 7:03 am

just an opinion....but if you do decide to install a choke system....you may wish to consider reducing barrel length to 26" on an auto....a 30" barrel is pretty long on an auto regardless of receiver length even on a 2 3/4" gun...I know some folks like the long guns for fluid swings, but a 30" barrel makes for a pretty darn long gun overall. A 26" or even a 28" will most likely improve overall balance.
DUKHTR
Forum & State Moderator

Postby thaner » Mon Feb 07, 2005 11:49 am