Which gun do you recommend ?

Share your questions on all makes and models of shotguns. Please post chokes questions in the SRBC forum

Moderators: Quack Wacker NC, MM

Which gun do you recommend ?

Postby Rookie » Thu Apr 07, 2005 8:00 pm

I am new in the hunting world and will mainly be hunting ducks and geese near rivers and ponds. My brother suggested to buy a gun that has the capability of 3 1/2" shells if I choose to use them and a 28" barrel. Here are the 4 that I am thinking about from my local store.

1. Browning Breakup (8 lbs 5 oz)
2. Browning Shadowgrass (8 lbs 5oz)
3. Remington 870 Wingmaster Super Mag (7 1/2 lbs)
4. Remington 870 SPS Super Mag Camo (7 1/4 lbs)

Any input on these guns is greatly appreciated !

P.S. I am hunting in southern Ontario where it could be pretty chilly, wet and muddy if this affects any of the above guns.
Rookie
hunter

Postby Quackers » Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:10 am

which model browning?
Quackers
hunter

Postby Ducksbeus » Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:53 am

ALOT of good waterfowl guns out there...Best advice I got is to shoulder a few...Wait for a sale...then get the "best" (most expensive) one that you can afford. Im married with children, I had to look for something cheap to exclusivly hunt waterfowl with, and, that wouldnt break my heart if I dropped it in the lake. My Nova has more than met its expectations. Being new to the sport, I would recommend that you stay on the "low end" of guns. After a few years of rolling in the mud, and hunting in the cold rain, you may want to " upgrade". Alot of fellas stop chasing them dux after a few years due to price on your wallet and body. Y'all have a nice day! :cool:
"You get what you put in, and people get what they deserve" Hank Jr. and Kid Rock
Ducksbeus
hunter

Postby Rookie » Fri Apr 08, 2005 5:47 pm