What is the right shell and choke?????

Interact with others on shot gun shells, reloading, ballistics, chokes, or anything that has to do with your shooting.

Moderators: donell67, NV Guide, pennsyltucky, Ohio Wildfowler

What is the right shell and choke?????

Postby NewBeeDuckHunter » Mon Dec 29, 2003 7:46 am

Hey all I am new to the world of duck hunting, I just started because I have recently got the right to hunt some land with a nice creek on it. But we have been haveing troble finding the right combo of choke/Shellsize /how many IN shells. The creek is banked on ether side by 10 foot mounds to protcet the crops from floads. The way we have been hunting them is the 3 of us spread out in front of one side of the bank in a line of about 100 yards then slow creep over the hill and spooke the brids. We have yet to bring down any brids and I am thinking it may be because we arnt hitning any vital areas because the are flying away from us. We get the frist shot of at about 30 yards. I dont want to be wounding any brids so any help would be greatly appriated.
NewBeeDuckHunter
Newb

Postby dldavis3 » Mon Dec 29, 2003 8:52 am

First I would say try to get closer. Try coming down inside of the creek. As far as choke and shell I think a Mod would be fine and try using a smaller shell like a 3 or 4. It will be kind of like throwing a net around the duck. Good Luck
dldavis3
hunter

Postby DUKHTR » Mon Dec 29, 2003 9:23 am

How ould wading the creek work? I'll bet you could be closer than a hundred feet as long as you move slowly and quietly. Not sure of this since I do not =know the creek's layout, but idf there are corners and brush you should be able to get close.

With steel, MY advice, is to use improved cylinder or modified for a 'regular' factory choke tube. Some aftermarket or some factory are for steel so you may consider them, but not on the same plane. As for shot size, on mallards and other big puddlers I would suggest 2's. For woodies and teal, 4's.