Fac vs. PatternMaster Results

Interact with others on shot gun shells, reloading, ballistics, chokes, or anything that has to do with your shooting.

Moderators: donell67, Ohio Wildfowler, NV Guide, pennsyltucky

Fac vs. PatternMaster Results

Postby clsmithiv » Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:32 am

I shoot a 28" supermagnum 870.
Yesterday I got my standard patternmaster in the mail and took it to the board.
These are the rounds I shot.
Kent Fasteel-the factory choke had a better pattern at 35 yards
12-11/8-3
Kent AP Waterfowl-even
12-11/4-2
Rem nitro
12-13/8-2-pattern master was better, but not by a lot.
Winchester
12-13/8-2- this was the best performing shell out of both @ 35yds. I cant wait to try this load in Kent, Fac=PM
Rem Nitro
12-MAX-T-holy cow, the pattern master is nasty.

Overall I think I am gonna send the pattern master back. I think it is great but I had to tighten it back and I dont shoot birds outside of 40-45 yards and the Rem Fac choke was surprisingly good and it has taken a lot of birds this years anywho. I dont know if this helps anyone just thought I would post it since I am bored as hell at work.
clsmithiv
hunter

Postby thaner » Fri Jan 05, 2007 12:06 pm

Thanks for posting this. I think this type of info is very helpful to those considering the choke. I wish we had more load and choke patterning information on the site. I plan to do some patterning this winter after the late goose season ends.
More ammo! I need to shoot something!
thaner
hunter

Postby clsmithiv » Fri Jan 05, 2007 1:00 pm

I forgot to mention that All of the pattern master shots were very uniform. The factory Modified werent as uniform but had many hits in the desired duck pattern.
clsmithiv
hunter

Postby pennsyltucky » Fri Jan 05, 2007 1:49 pm