New to Waterfowl hunt'n Mossberg 835 choke...NEED H_E_L_P!

Interact with others on shot gun shells, reloading, ballistics, chokes, or anything that has to do with your shooting.

Moderators: donell67, pennsyltucky, Ohio Wildfowler, NV Guide

New to Waterfowl hunt'n Mossberg 835 choke...NEED H_E_L_P!

Postby btrapr1 » Fri Jan 05, 2007 6:59 pm

I am new to duck hunting and have a Mossberg 835___
My question is I bought a used gun and have two chokes...
#1 is marked Full- 2 & BB Steel (this is marked together on the same spot)
#2 is marked Modified- 2 & BB steel (" " " " ")

Does this mean actually that these are as marked when using STEEL SHOT! I will be shooting a modified PATTERN with the MOD and a FULL with the FULL????
I shot each load with both the chokes at 25 yds at a pie plate...on a piece of plywood...BOTH looked like they would work....OK___I will be shooting out to around 40 yds...give or take...

I will be shooting Remington 2 3/4" #4's and 3" #2's AT least for now...got'em cheap__AS in FREE...I will experiment later with other brands etc...

*** :help: Special note the more I read about specialty chokes like the the more confused I get...___>I do however like what I see and the reviews that I have read about the Carlson's extneded knurled___long parralel choke tubes...and at $35 each...Its the path I am probably going to take...
I really like the thought of an extended knurled choke (easy to switch out)...

:thumbsup: thank you in advance for any more mind boggling imput or smoke clearing advice! :thumbsup:
Last edited by btrapr1 on Fri Jan 05, 2007 7:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
btrapr1
hunter

Postby VTduckman » Fri Jan 05, 2007 7:39 pm

All ia m gonna tell you is the truth.

1. I have the same gun as you

2. I use a modified choke for everything, squrriles to rabbits, ducks, geese and turkeys.

3. i have never used a fancy waterfowl choke

4.i tried an extra full turkey choke, was worse than my modified at 30 yards (lead)