HELP! Need advice for turkey loads!

Interact with others on shot gun shells, reloading, ballistics, chokes, or anything that has to do with your shooting.

Moderators: donell67, pennsyltucky, Ohio Wildfowler, NV Guide

HELP! Need advice for turkey loads!

Postby kingcrabbercurry » Sat Jan 06, 2007 9:05 pm

I know this is DHC, but I figured some of you guys might be turkey hunters as well. I'm going on my first ever turkey hunt in 2 weeks and need some advice on what type of choke/load combination you guys shoot. I know each gun is different, and I know that the only way to determine what will work best is to pattern the loads and chokes in my gun, but I'm a student and don't have access to a range or anything like that while I'm up at school. I would just like to get a ballpark idea of what you would shoot if you were in my shoes.

The gun I'll be using is a 3" Remington 870 with a 28" barrel. If any of you shoot a similar gun for turkeys, please help me out and share your choke/load combos with me.

I plan on patterning my gun sometime between now and the start of the "real" season, but a friend has just invited me to go for the winter season, and I need to order my ammo/choke in the next day or two.

Thanks!
"Keep the wind at your back, your decoys pretty, and shoot 'em in the face."

2007-08 Season Totals:
Mallards - 4
Woodies - 13
Gadwall - 1
kingcrabbercurry
hunter

Postby MossyGO! » Sat Jan 06, 2007 10:36 pm

I have an 835 and use my XFull choke with 3.5inch remington turkey loads it that helps any.
idahofowler wrote: i can shoulder a gun faster than anyone i know. i try to let the people i'm hunting with have the first shot because i can clean house even if i fire last. with instinct shots, no one beats me.
MossyGO!
Forum & State Moderator

Postby pennsyltucky » Sun Jan 07, 2007 8:31 am