Remington H D shotshells

Interact with others on shot gun shells, reloading, ballistics, chokes, or anything that has to do with your shooting.

Moderators: donell67, Ohio Wildfowler, NV Guide, pennsyltucky

Remington H D shotshells

Postby flywayman » Thu Aug 07, 2014 11:49 am

Like a lot of others, I bought remington wingmaster H D shells on closeout deals and also bought some of the old remington heavy shot shells. I have been shooting these at ducks in 4s and 6s for several years. I now have several cases left of 12 ga 3in. 4s and 6s in a 1 5/8 oz. load. I am thinking the recoil on these will really be stout compared to the 1 1/4 oz. that I have been shooting.
Has anyone shot these at mallards? I am wondering about the recoil and how they pattern.
flywayman
hunter

Re: Remington H D shotshells

Postby Seaark18 » Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:59 pm

I'd use a fairly open choke with those, but they should make a killer load. I had some, but shot them up years back. I don't recall noticing the recoil, so it couldn't have been that bad.
Seaark18
hunter

Postby derbyacresbob » Thu Aug 07, 2014 2:03 pm

I bet they pattern good.

I have patterned Rem HD loads with #2s, BB and T shot and they all patterned very good. They were all 3" 1-1/2 oz loads.

The 2-3/4" 1-1/4 oz Rem HD Ultimate Home defense loads also patterned very good.
Foxpro Field Staff
derbyacresbob
hunter

Postby mudpack » Thu Aug 07, 2014 2:53 pm

flywayman wrote: remington wingmaster H D shells .... I have been shooting these at ducks in 4s and 6s for several years..... I am wondering about the recoil and how they pattern.

You've been shooting these shells for years and you don't know how they recoil or pattern? :huh: You've lost me somewhere.....
mudpack
hunter

Postby z51 » Thu Aug 07, 2014 3:12 pm