Need a recipe

Interact with others on shot gun shells, reloading, ballistics, chokes, or anything that has to do with your shooting.

Moderators: donell67, NV Guide, pennsyltucky, Ohio Wildfowler

Need a recipe

Postby Pete-pec » Thu Sep 16, 2004 4:16 pm

Need to know if anyone has a recipe to load 2 and 3/4 inch shells. I want to load these shells at 1 and 1/4 oz. using steel, and using trap shells (winchester AA's). Need to know what kind of powder, wad, and what size bushing to use in a mec reloader. Any pertinent information would be greatly appreciated. Wings cupped, Pete
Pete-pec
Forum & State Moderator

Postby atp » Wed Oct 13, 2004 6:31 pm

Hi

Buy a good reloading book and don't bother going beyond the 1 oz load---if heavier it is too slow and down range kill power is quickly lost-

Unless steel is leaving at 1500 fps or higher it slows too quickly!

I have been reloading steel for 12 yrs and settled on using BB shot only,1 oz and federal gold medal cases.

Check with Ballistic products and get their loading manual and stick with their reccommendations---NO SUBSTITUTES...!You will find the reload rewarding---though buying the shells on special sales---you won't save much!

Good Hunting!

TOM
We are located in Vancouver,BC
Hunting done in Manitoba and BC
atp
hunter

Postby Pete-pec » Thu Oct 14, 2004 5:48 am

Tom,