Setting and Retrieving deocys

Share tips and ask questions on all types of duck decoys. Including working, classics, collectable, and carving decoys.

Moderators: HENDU3270, fowlhunter, Remman, DUKHTR

Setting and Retrieving deocys

Postby Jay Jolicoeur » Fri Nov 25, 2005 7:05 am

I am new to hunting from a boat and using decoys. I have a 17th mod V and a Go Devil Longtail. It is not the most condusive rig to handling Decoys. I used kayaks and that was cake. This is much more difficult. I bought some waders to walk them out, but in the Florida Muck and the salt water marshes I find myself stuck up to my knees. What do you guys suggest. :help:
Jay Jolicoeur
hunter

Postby Gooseboy » Fri Nov 25, 2005 9:06 am

You could use a decoy retriever pole.http://www.mackspw.com/sort.asp?id=272_ ... _Retriever

Or one tip that i know of is to take like 20 feet of decoy line, attacht a weight onto it and then take a screw driver and drive a bunch of screws into the lead weight so they are sticking out. Then you throw the weight underneaith your decoy so the screws will catch the line and you can pull it back in. Have a good season! :thumbsup:
The group ended up with 420 birds.

(\__/) This is my bunny. There
(='.'=) are many like him but this
(")_(")one is mine. Cut and paste the bunny into your signature to help the bunny gain world domination !
Gooseboy
Banned

Postby Duck Whittler » Fri Nov 25, 2005 10:25 am

When I was hunting where we picked up decoys every day I would just let the wind blow me through the decoys and grab every one I could then wrap them up while coming around for the next pass , about 3 times like that and you have the majority of them then just motor around to get the strays you missed .. Three guys could pick up 120 decoys in about 10 mins that way.
Wes
Duck Whittler
hunter

Postby Mike M. » Sat Nov 26, 2005 5:19 pm