new to duck hunting...decoy brand , how many and what type

Share tips and ask questions on all types of duck decoys. Including working, classics, collectable, and carving decoys.

Moderators: HENDU3270, DUKHTR, fowlhunter, Remman

new to duck hunting...decoy brand , how many and what type

Postby BrandenKeene » Fri Mar 22, 2013 9:27 am

I am new to duck hunting and was wondering what barnd of decoys,what type of duck and how many to get. For the most part i hunt in the flooded timber but somtimes i hunt in the marsh.
BrandenKeene
hunter

Re: new to duck hunting...decoy brand , how many and what ty

Postby IdahoD » Fri Mar 22, 2013 9:48 am

As far as brand goes, there's a bunch of different ones and you'll get many opinions on whats best. As far as how many decoys, it depends on so many things. How big is the hole you're hunting, how many ducks do you usually see in there, time of year, mix of species, etc. I'd suggest a cool 2 doz to get you going (can even do less if you cant afford it) and maybe a mix in couple teal, wood ducks, pintails (whatever you see in the area) and some feeders or sleepers. Just remember that it's better to be hunting over a couple decoys than not hunting at all because you cant afford the gas to get there because you spent it on decoys. Buy as many as you can afford and add to it as you can. Ultimately it's about getting out there. I've shot ducks over some pretty nasty looking decoys :yes:
IdahoD
hunter

Postby JuniorPre 360 » Fri Mar 22, 2013 10:47 am

Figure out what kind of ducks you have in your area and get that kind of decoy. Teal, woodies, and mallards seem to be a good combo. Quick question, what got you started on duck hunting?
A BAD DAY AT THE MARSH BEATS A GOOD DAY AT WORK.
killwoodies101 wrote:your a dudshe bag! You dont own the river your dont own any property around it.. Its just as mush mine and any other tom **** and harry's as it is yours !! get a life share what is yours or stop hunting
JuniorPre 360
hunter