need help with decoy spread

Share tips and ask questions on all types of duck decoys. Including working, classics, collectable, and carving decoys.

Moderators: HENDU3270, fowlhunter, Remman, DUKHTR

need help with decoy spread

Postby bhack » Sat Jan 15, 2005 9:05 am

Hello all,
I'm new to this sight and fairly new at hunting. I have a couple questions about placing my decoys:
1. I have 4 doz mallards and 1 doz teal and just bought 1 doz Bluebills. I quit putting the teals out this time of year, but was wondering if I should mix the blue's in with the mallards. If so, where at in the spread should I put them?
2. I've heard that divers should be put on stringers, is this true and whats the best way to rig them up?
bhack
hunter

Postby ks_waterfowler » Sat Jan 15, 2005 11:28 am

First off, go ahead and throw the teal back out there. We have broke thick ice and still shot greenwings. Put the mallards in a group and put the bluebills in a group off to the side. Those black decoys are highly visible. Make a spaec in between the mallards and the bluebills for them to land.
whistlin_wings wrote:I grew up in a neighborhood with only 3 pools and a public golf course. Thug life is all I know.
ks_waterfowler
hunter

Postby REDLEGGER » Sun Jan 16, 2005 12:36 pm

if you never want tangled line in your bag just let me I tell you how to rigem so that isn't a problem :thumbsup:
" take a kid hunting you will never regret it"

" God, FAMILY, HUNTING IN THAT ORDER"
REDLEGGER
hunter

Postby donell67 » Sun Jan 16, 2005 4:23 pm

what ks said. keep divers and puddles seperate. keep using those teal. more dekes the better. we kill teal all winter.
donell67
Forum & State Moderator

Postby h2ofwlr » Mon Jan 17, 2005 3:18 pm

It is called long lining for the divers. check out the diver forum-lots already posted there about it.