decoys

Share tips and ask questions on all types of duck decoys. Including working, classics, collectable, and carving decoys.

Moderators: HENDU3270, fowlhunter, Remman, DUKHTR

decoys

Postby dixie » Thu Feb 17, 2005 9:26 pm

hi im new to duck hunting and wanted to know if decoys were important do you really need them?which one do you need more a duck call or duck decoys
dixie
hunter

Postby huntmq1 » Thu Feb 17, 2005 11:50 pm

Yes, I would say that you need decoys.....something to get the ducks attention, wether it be 6 decoys or 6 dozen. And yes you need a call, both are important tools, just like your shotgun. If someone told me that they were going duck hunting with no call and no decoys, I would stay in bed that morning.
:salude:
huntmq1
hunter

Postby DUKHTR » Fri Feb 18, 2005 8:16 am

Generally....really about 90%....decoys are the key....calling is a plus, but many times not even an issue (how many times have the ducks landed in the decoys while you were sipping coffee and munching on peanuts???)

of course there are times when a hunt is best w/out.....like walking a stream for woodies in the late afternoon.....or othere specific types of hunts and species.....but the bottom-line is to have three things.....a place they want to be, the decoys to entice them to commit and finally to be well hidden/still ....IMO! Calling when done correctly will increase your success, but is not essential. My advice is to invest in good decoys, supplement with good general equipment (camo, waders) and then worry about a call.
DUKHTR
Forum & State Moderator

Postby thaner » Fri Feb 18, 2005 10:44 am

I have had duck drop in to my decoys without even seeing them coming or ever blowing a call, but I have never called a duck into the water without decoys, so I would have to say decoys first.