Stringing up decoys

Share tips and ask questions on all types of duck decoys. Including working, classics, collectable, and carving decoys.

Moderators: HENDU3270, DUKHTR, fowlhunter, Remman

Stringing up decoys

Postby ucdal » Tue Aug 30, 2005 5:42 pm

I am pretty new to my own duck hunting equipment, usually I hunt with guys that have everything set up for me, so my question is this, what is the best method for stringing up decoys??????

TIA

:withstupid:
ucdal
Newb

Postby Swamp Puppy » Tue Aug 30, 2005 7:02 pm

i just use a length of line ( i prefer no-tangle) that is about 1-2 feet longer than the water i am expecting to hunt in with a standard mushroom style weight.

tie one end to the deke and the other to the weight..then wrap 'em up and you're ready to go.

hope that answers your question.
Friends Don't Let Friends Shoot Mossbergs.
Swamp Puppy
hunter

Postby texan68 » Tue Aug 30, 2005 10:29 pm

that no tangle stuff is nice for warm water hunting, but if you are huntin in the teens, that stuff freezes and breaks in a few seconds out of water. I use 80lbs fishing line.....ties real nice knots, and no freezing. I just tie a simple loop on both ends, and string it through. I use standard strap, mushroom strap, and 6 and 8oz fishing weights. :thumbsup:
texan68
hunter

Postby bgoldhunter » Wed Aug 31, 2005 11:34 am

Last edited by bgoldhunter on Wed Oct 15, 2008 10:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
bgoldhunter
hunter

decoy string

Postby MicroMike » Tue Nov 15, 2005 12:36 pm

Texan68, you must hunt in the panhandle!
MicroMike
hunter

Stringing dekes

Postby Dep666 » Thu Nov 17, 2005 1:50 pm

Well this is how I string dekes.....

First is the line you use. I hunt some of the coldest weather, so that tangle free stuff is definetly out. I use military 550 cord(Parachute cord). It is tough, hard to break , and sinks. I usually hunt refuges , but I occasionally hunt the fingerlakes(central NY) and even Lake Ontario. My cord lengths are about 5 ft-8 ft.