Rainy hunting?

Chat about Arizona duck hunting and share useful tips for duck hunting in Arizona.

Moderator: LaRedneck

Rainy hunting?

Postby hubcap » Fri Jan 25, 2013 5:59 pm

Duck hunting noob here and I've waited till the last minute, and now its going to rain tomorrow. Anyone ever hunt in the rain? Is it even worth going out. Went scouting and found what I think might be a pretty good spot along the Salt River. Any experienced river hunters out there.

Thanks
Scott
hubcap
hunter

Re: Rainy hunting?

Postby garthfishandhunt » Fri Jan 25, 2013 7:28 pm

Of all the weather conditions that exist I prefer to hunt in windy conditions more than anything. I'll take a 30 mph wind, warm and sunny over cloudy, cold and calm any day. This weekend's weather is forecasted to be warm and rainy with little wind, in my opinion not great duck hunting conditions. Having said that, I'll be out there both days this weekend looking for the X.
garthfishandhunt
hunter

Postby LaRedneck » Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:03 pm

Yes its worth it, you want to hunt during any tipe of "front" coming through.
THE RIGHT OF THE PEOPLE TO KEEP AND BEAR ARMS SHALL NOT BE INFRINGED

YOU GOT A PERMIT TO ASK STUPID QUESTIONS LIKE THAT (TRACE ADKINS)

NRA
DU
NAHC
LaRedneck
Forum & State Moderator

Postby hubcap » Sat Jan 26, 2013 5:46 am

thanks guys. it's raining pretty good right now. it's going to be my first duck hunt and my nephews first hunt of any kind. should be interesting.
hubcap
hunter

Postby LaRedneck » Sat Jan 26, 2013 11:57 am

Oh, we'll being your first I would of said no unless your on the X but I guess ya'll will be broken in right lol.

NRA
DU
NAHC
LaRedneck
Forum & State Moderator

Postby garthfishandhunt » Sat Jan 26, 2013 2:02 pm

Had to hunt alone today, which I don't like to do, and had to move my blind twice to get on the birds. Ended up with 2 Gads, 2 Widgeon. I am now drying out gear for tomorrow's hunt.
Attachments
Gads and Widgeon.jpg
garthfishandhunt
hunter