New to Arizona

Chat about Arizona duck hunting and share useful tips for duck hunting in Arizona.

Moderator: LaRedneck

New to Arizona

Postby Looking4Ducks » Sat Jan 12, 2008 10:07 pm

Hello everyone, my name is Brandon and I am new to duck hunting in Arizona. I live in the Scottsdale area and have been trying to find some places to hunt. I got some advice from Game and Fish to check out Horseshoe Lake so I went today. When I got there it looked like it could hold some ducks but the water level was too low to launch my boat. I have a 16x50 Gator Trax w/hunt deck and 35hp HD. Any advice on other lakes in this area like Bartlett, Roosevelt, Pleasant, etc. or should I be looking else where.

I am not looking for a honey hole just where to get started. I would also enjoy meeting some guys to hunt with as all my hunting buddies are back in Texas.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
Looking4Ducks
hunter

Postby 6x6pinz » Sun Jan 13, 2008 10:10 am

not to discourage you but unless you have time off during the week it is kind of a lte start. There is less than 14 days left of this season. :sad:
I have wanted to take my boat out to Alamo lake this year just did not fing the time. Roosevelt can be a good place although it is a large lake and can be difficult to pin down their location on a day by day basis.
6x6pinz
hunter

Postby Looking4Ducks » Sun Jan 13, 2008 9:47 pm

Hey 6x6 thanks for responding. Yeah late start I know but I am just wanting to go a couple of times before the season ends. I have a Gator Trax 16x50 w/hunt deck and a 35hp HD mud motor so I think I am going to try the Verde river. Seems like rivers always hold ducks if you can just find a spot. I am also looking for a hunting buddy for the up coming season. I figure I can scout this spring and summer while fishing and try to have a couple of early season locations and late season locations.
Looking4Ducks
hunter

Postby LIGHT12 » Sun Jan 13, 2008 11:05 pm