New to Diver Hunting~

Duck hunting for diver species like Canvasbacks, Redheads, Ringnecks, Eiders, Goldeneye and other diver ducks.

Moderators: jamesmc, LayedOut, Dep6, crewchief252

New to Diver Hunting~

Postby 870Hunter » Tue Oct 25, 2005 5:57 pm

Im new to diver hunting and i was just wondering what decoys would be good for a efficent spread and how many of them? Id be hunting on the St.Lawrence River and lake Ontario! IF you knwo of any spots aroudn the Northern New York area that are good id also be interested in finding out! I would like to get some Broadies(Broadbills there not Blue Bills!) Any tips would be apprciated thanks!
870Hunter
hunter

Postby T-MAN » Tue Oct 25, 2005 6:12 pm

Thats right man, they are broadbill! But, well prolly do some shorelinin over th bluff.
T-MAN
hunter

Postby diver-hunter » Wed Oct 26, 2005 5:00 am

bluebills is what we use, and about 15-17 of em. it varies depending on where we hunt though. we use all sorts of spreads and different deeks.
I've got a shotgun, a rifle and a 4x4.....we can skin a buck and run a trot line & A Country Boy Can Survive....- Hank Jr.

You do your thing, I'll do mine...- Montgomery Gentry
diver-hunter
hunter

Postby DuckHunterChris » Thu Oct 27, 2005 4:49 pm

What type of Decoys should i buy...i heard the herters were good but they dont have much detail...also i heard they ride good on the Water?
The carrylites are cheap but i guess a lot of peopele use them what do you think? Any help would be good.....
:cool: Thanks
DuckHunterChris
hunter

Postby T-MAN » Thu Oct 27, 2005 6:11 pm

I have some carrylite. I think their shape is totally off. Their bodys are too skinny. I tuned them into whistlers for some more blocks on my longline.
T-MAN
hunter

Postby DuckHunterChris » Thu Oct 27, 2005 6:30 pm

I dont think itll matter that much from what iv heard tjhy dont have that great of Depth perception.....i think the white will help out!Peace man :smile:
DuckHunterChris
hunter