Diver Newbie

Duck hunting for diver species like Canvasbacks, Redheads, Ringnecks, Eiders, Goldeneye and other diver ducks.

Moderators: jamesmc, crewchief252, LayedOut, Dep6

Diver Newbie

Postby waterfowler82 » Mon Dec 05, 2005 9:26 pm

I'm very new to the diver persuasion but, having bought my first boat this year, I'm interested in hunting more big water. My boat is a 14' Jon boat with (what I'm guessing is) a 36-40" beam; its pretty narrow (and when the dog moves from one side to the other it feels a little uneasy), but it also has a pretty low profile when equiped with duck gear. Do you think that I'd be able to hunt lakes from this boat, or would I need something wider add stability in rougher water? How about hunting from the bank, is that effective for ducks on small to mid-sized lakes?

I'm interested in layout hunting, but I think I'll introduce myself to big water hunting a little more gradually rather than jumping right into a coffin without any experience on lakes.

Thanks for your help! :thumbsup:
waterfowler82
hunter

Postby casey_714 » Mon Dec 05, 2005 11:59 pm

I have the same size boat (maybe a little wider). I take it on a bigger river, but I would be kind of scared to take it when it was really windy, let alone on a big lake. I dont know... mine just sits too low on the water for my comfort.
casey_714
State Moderator

Postby ISHOOTDIVERS » Tue Dec 06, 2005 9:42 am

Jon boats are no place for big water IMO, here on Erie I don't like taking out 20' Jons or even War Eagles for that, for me diver hunting consist of nasty weather and big water and the answer for that is Deep V all the way, although I am sure your just hunting smallaer rivers and lakes you could do it on calm days and short runs just watch yourself and don't be silly about it.My big water is a hole lot different than the big water you'll have
Diver Hunters Do It In Big Waves!

Save A Seal, Club An Activist
ISHOOTDIVERS
hunter

keep the jon on the marsh, not the lake