bluebill rigging

Duck hunting for diver species like Canvasbacks, Redheads, Ringnecks, Eiders, Goldeneye and other diver ducks.

Moderators: jamesmc, crewchief252, LayedOut, Dep6

bluebill rigging

Postby fugi1963 » Sat Aug 18, 2012 8:10 pm

I posted this in another forum and didn't get any response so I'll try it in this forum. I'm just getting into diver hunting and bought 2 dozen bluebill decoys. I will be hunting in water depth of 4'-7'. I don't know much about long lines and gang rigs but I'm wonder should I rig them this way or is the water shallow enough to rig them individually?
fugi1963
hunter

Re: bluebill rigging

Postby goosehunter64 » Sat Aug 18, 2012 8:14 pm

Long line....period..."BUT"...I would purchase another 1-2 doz...this way you can create a "head" or the hook in the J. Doing this with single droppers makes it easier in that depth of water....at least from my experience. :thumbsup:
Rob.
Team WingLock
Lock'em "N" Rock'em
goosehunter64
hunter

Postby Smith » Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:56 pm

At those depths you can rig them any way you want. If I were only putting out two dozen decoys I'd set them on individual anchors, just so the rig would be more versatile. On a big rig, longlines are the only way to go (for me). One season years ago I set my whole layout rig, about 120 decoys, on individual anchors, and we always hunted in 10 to 15 feet of water. I did it just to see if getting away from the rank-and-file marching band look of the longlines would help bring in the late season educated birds. It didn't seem to make any difference at all. I quickly put them back on longlines.
Smith
hunter

Postby Paul26 » Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:49 pm

With only 2 dozen I'd send them out individually simply for flexibility for different location.

I would try to go to 4 doz, and have 2 on ll's and the original 2 stay singles
Paul26
hunter

Postby alloutwar13 » Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 pm