King Eiders

Duck hunting for diver species like Canvasbacks, Redheads, Ringnecks, Eiders, Goldeneye and other diver ducks.

Moderators: jamesmc, crewchief252, LayedOut, Dep6

King Eiders

Postby CDUX » Fri Aug 11, 2006 1:59 pm

Anyone ever bag one of these drakes? I have yet to see one with a gun in my hand, but I got a spot already picked out on the wall for when I do.
Fred
CDUX
hunter
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 12:05 pm
Location: So. Me/NH


Postby Smackaduck » Fri Aug 11, 2006 5:35 pm

:welcome: to DHC. No Ive never seen one and propably never will unless I go out with one of these northerners one day. :laughing:
If they're dumb enough to be lured in by plastic you're really just doing them a favor.

Know your target before you pull the trigger.

Duck Hunting is ALL about the bag.
User avatar
Smackaduck
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 6201
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 7:04 pm
Location: Shreveport, Louisiana

Postby Mike M. » Mon Aug 14, 2006 10:53 pm

I've seen a few but never while gunning. That is one trophy bird I hope to harvest at some point here in New England.
User avatar
Mike M.
hunter
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 9:09 am
Location: MA

Head far nort west

Postby Keller » Mon Aug 21, 2006 9:10 am

Pick me up on your way through!!!! :mrgreen:
Keller
Newb
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 8:59 pm
Location: Tennessee

Postby Erik Olsen » Mon Aug 21, 2006 3:35 pm

not in my area
"pass me some ammo" Oh crap you shoot three and a half!"
Erik Olsen
hunter
 
Posts: 372
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 9:40 pm
Location: beloit wisconsin

Postby ak_powder_monkey » Tue Sep 12, 2006 12:30 am

I've only seen common and stellars eiders
User avatar
ak_powder_monkey
hunter
 
Posts: 543
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:39 pm
Location: Juneau / Eagle River ALaska

King Eider

Postby Northern Stalker » Thu Sep 14, 2006 12:21 am

I've shot them, not a pretty drake but still a King Eider...it was even captured on film..check out the swampers "a Salty Season", they hunted with us here in Alaska.

-Northern Stalker
Northern Stalker
hunter
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 11:56 am
Location: North Pole, Alaska

King Eiders

Postby big37dog » Fri Nov 10, 2006 8:03 am

Some falls up here thats all we shoot for the first few weeks. I have limited out on Kings ( Drakes) often.
User avatar
big37dog
hunter
 
Posts: 488
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 7:12 am
Location: Newfoundland


Return to Diver Duck Hunting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: UncleTork and 3 guests