First Goldy!

Duck hunting for diver species like Canvasbacks, Redheads, Ringnecks, Eiders, Goldeneye and other diver ducks.

Moderators: jamesmc, crewchief252, LayedOut, Dep6

First Goldy!

Postby pweisbrod » Thu Nov 08, 2012 11:08 am

I once read in a duck hunting story that goldeneyes decoy heroically. I know what they meant now. The first goldeneye I've ever seen, let alone shot. I think its a nice bird, he had a really puffed up head before I got it wet picking him up.

This is my first year as a diver hunter, and man, screw them stupid park ducks! big water diver hunting rules!!! :lol:

I've been struggling to get birds to decoy, i put out about twice as many decoys as I normally do today, and what a difference it made.

PS- do you think this is a mountable quality bird? His head is almost like a drake mallard in the sunlight, so I think he's a stud.
Skyscraper.
pweisbrod
hunter

Re: First Goldy!

Postby WBH » Thu Nov 08, 2012 11:45 am

Good looking bird! IMO GE make a great mount take that jewel to the taxidermist. Congrats, your hooked now.
WBH
hunter

Postby quacksmackerguide » Thu Nov 08, 2012 11:55 am

Well done. That's a nice bird put him on the wall congrats
quacksmackerguide
hunter

Postby pweisbrod » Thu Nov 08, 2012 3:59 pm

Thanks guys! Appreciate it. I am going to have him done for sure. I shot a dandy redhead earlier this year, but this GE is a much nicer bird in my opinion, so the redhead is either going to wait or get thawed and cleaned! :thumbsup:

I just wish I had more of my dekes on longlines.I had 40 or so divers plus some mallards and geese out, took me 45 minutes to pick up today. only 12 bills on a LL. 45 minutes is a lot of valuable hunting time! :hammer:
Skyscraper.
pweisbrod
hunter

Postby toolmaker » Thu Nov 08, 2012 5:24 pm

yeah, once you make the switch to diver hunting, you can lose the war paint on the face!!!!!!!!!!!!!

totally not needed