cannot get large groups of ducks to commit to spread.

Duck hunting for diver species like Canvasbacks, Redheads, Ringnecks, Eiders, Goldeneye and other diver ducks.

Moderators: jamesmc, LayedOut, Dep6, crewchief252

cannot get large groups of ducks to commit to spread.

Postby timbertime » Tue Dec 25, 2012 9:12 pm

I am having large groups of bluebill and redhead work spread just out of shooting range. I am no problem with singles and small groups up to six dumping into spread. The large groups look and will land fifty to seventy fine yards out of spread and swim around. I have been hunting with fine dozen bluebill and three dozen reds. I have changed spread around every way I can imagine to no avail. I would appreciate any ideas. We are getting limits but would love to see the big groups commit.
timbertime
hunter

Re: cannot get large groups of ducks to commit to spread.

Postby ispfowler » Tue Dec 25, 2012 9:59 pm

It's fun to have a flock of birds do it right, but if you are getting limits on smaller groups, pairs, or singles.......why would you want to educate larger flocks of birds?
ispfowler
hunter

Postby Tealer » Wed Dec 26, 2012 12:58 am

I try not to shoot in to large flocks. I think they get tougher to hunt when they get shot at like that.
Widmer Bros Prostaff
Former Hostess Prostaff
WizzBang Prostaff
Tealer
village idiot

Postby dablaw » Wed Dec 26, 2012 5:25 am

Drop your decoys down to 4-6 dekes and see what happens..You'll be glad you did..Also remember, bigger flock means more eyes watching...zero movement, no noise and fewer decoys...Good luck...
I'm an old fart , but young at heart...Been there,done that, wrote the freakin book...When i die I hope it's at sunrise, with a gun in my hand, and the sound of wings overhead...
dablaw
hunter

Postby timbertime » Wed Dec 26, 2012 11:20 am