Tips on hunting the lake

Duck hunting for diver species like Canvasbacks, Redheads, Ringnecks, Eiders, Goldeneye and other diver ducks.

Moderators: jamesmc, crewchief252, LayedOut, Dep6

Tips on hunting the lake

Postby newbiewaterfowler » Fri Dec 10, 2004 10:06 pm

I have a nice layout boat and the lake I hunt at have alot of ducks out in the middle ,so what tips can you give me for possibly bagging some of those,remember I'm new at duck hunting and this will be the first time laying out in the middle of the lake.any positive info will help.
newbiewaterfowler
hunter

Layout hunting

Postby Dep666 » Sat Dec 11, 2004 4:37 pm

What kind of layout boat? I'm in the market for one. Pm me I have a few tips.
Dep666
hunter

Postby h2ofwlr » Sat Dec 11, 2004 9:16 pm

I have never layout boat hunted being it is illegal by state law here in MN.
But 2 general tips would be in order. Hunt the leeward side if windy out as divers generally like to get out of the big waves(safety factor for yourself too). And hunt where the food is like wild celery and such. Anothers words-be where the ducks want to be.

Hopefully some great lakes hunters will most up as I know some of them are very experienced in layout boat hunting.
The Audacity of Bull Crap.
"Typical: Gun-loving, bitter bible-thumping white person" Barack Obama.
Hey I resemble that comment!!! Those are FIGHTING WORDS!!!
h2ofwlr
Forum & State Moderator

Postby newbiewaterfowler » Sun Dec 12, 2004 12:41 am

Do I need big numbers on my dekes,like 50,75,or what.When I was on the edge of the lake (about 60 yards from shore in some stumps) I had 2 dozen and they fly over me and went into the big group close to the middle of the lake.If I try the middle I don't think my 2 dozen are gonna make them look,am I right or wrong?
newbiewaterfowler
hunter

Postby hawkdog » Mon Dec 13, 2004 1:21 pm