Goldeneye advice needed!

Duck hunting for diver species like Canvasbacks, Redheads, Ringnecks, Eiders, Goldeneye and other diver ducks.

Moderators: jamesmc, LayedOut, Dep6, crewchief252

Goldeneye advice needed!

Postby gad daddy » Mon Jul 29, 2013 9:36 pm

Guy's i have been chasing goldies for 2 years now and still no luck, We have very low numbers of GE's here in Alabama, I was wandering what kinda decoys y'all use, numbers of decoys etc...I have tried all i know to do, so ny help would be greatly appeciated for this upcoming season! Thanks in advance David.
gad daddy
hunter

Re: Goldeneye advice needed!

Postby eagles2069 » Tue Jul 30, 2013 8:39 am

Have you tried using some hen decoys? I would say if you don't see a big number of them I wouldn't throw out huge number of decoys. I would see where they like to hang out and throw maybe 6 or 7 decoys. I would use more hens than drakes. I hunt areas with decent amounts of GE and had more luck once I added hens into the spread.
eagles2069
hunter

Postby ScaupHunter » Tue Jul 30, 2013 8:58 am

Exactly.

Everyone seems to put out an all drake spread for divers. Buffies, Goldeneye, Blue Bill, etc..... all seem to decoy far better when there is a higher percentage of hens and immature drakes in the spread. Buffies like a 1 drake to 3 or 4 hen spread. They fly by an all drake or multi drake spread and come in to land like little rockets for a mainly hen spread. Goldeneye tend to do the same thing.

With many species of ducks the immature drakes look a lot like a hen. This means a natural flock of birds will have more "hens" in it than drakes. If you are not on the X and your spread doesn't look natural you are going to get blown off. Find the X and put the right spread out and they will come in hot and drop their feet. If your close to the X and have the right spread you will get close enough flyby's to get some shots.