goldeneyes

Duck hunting for diver species like Canvasbacks, Redheads, Ringnecks, Eiders, Goldeneye and other diver ducks.

Moderators: jamesmc, crewchief252, LayedOut, Dep6

goldeneyes

Postby fatboto » Wed Nov 29, 2006 5:56 am

can someone help?? I have about 22 goldeneyes I set them it a hook formation on a river near by. I see couple hundred birds but only a few decoy is there any tricks to hunting these? some of my decoys have cork missing and paint too, and some are good, should the junk ones be inside or outside??? thanks
fatboto
hunter

Postby Mallard Machine » Wed Nov 29, 2006 7:18 am

I am no Goldeneye expert by any means, i always have the same problem, some days they will come right in flock after flock and other days they won't go near ther decoys. Maybe relocate to more open water somewhere if that's where the birds are! Don't worry about the old decoys i've seen people use javex jugs on the water to get them to decoy HHAHAA so i don't think your decoys will affect them a whole lot
GOOD LUCK
Did Ya Git Yur Buck EEERRRR Wha??
Mallard Machine
hunter

Postby goosehunter64 » Wed Nov 29, 2006 7:43 am

Probably just your location.
Rob.
Team WingLock
Lock'em "N" Rock'em
goosehunter64
hunter

Postby Wooderson » Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:16 am

I went out last weekend with a few buddies that have been out for the past 3 weekends and they said that the birds were comming into the decoys really nice for the first two weeks but the weekend I went out with them for some reason they said they werent comming into the decoys as good. Might just be from getting used to decoys or maybe you were set up in the wrong location.
Wooderson
hunter

Postby MattKenzer » Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:58 am

Hi fatboto....It is important to pay attention to were those passer-bys are going....like many decoy spreads, you must be were they want to be....a couple confidence decoys may help your spread as well....Stay at it, you will figure them out :thumbsup:
MattKenzer
hunter