Duck Hunting Forum banner

Layout boat questions Please help!!!!

1K views 10 replies 6 participants last post by  duckblind 
#1 ·
This is my first year hunting from a layout boat. I am AL and hunt on Guntersville lake which is a large lake on TN river. I have only hunted my boat two days so far. It is a 4 rivers 11'. I run gang rigs with about 100 deks. There are a ton of coots on the lake so I put out 4 Doz coot, and mix in BB, Cans, Ringbills, and 6/6 buffy's and GE. I use set ups like the ones posted on here. I have notice that the ducks will not dump in. They look but won't commit. Here are my questions

Do you think the ducks are seeing me?

Should I put fast grass around it? Maybe this would hide the dog and me more. I always thought hunt from layout boat is so you look like water. So I am not sure this is the answer.

My lab is with me. Could the be seeing her?

Do people hunt dogs in their layout boats?

Am I sitting to high in the boat? I sit on the rest that came with the boat. If I sit lower I can't see duck comming in.

Last two week ends I was out and didn't have any ducks come in. I went into shore where my brother was hunting from the tender boat. Both week ends while I was in shore I had ducks dump into the decoys. This makes me believe they don't like something about the layout boat. Please help!

See less See more
#2 ·
first - what color is the boat? If you are laying out in the middle of a body of water, it should be a flat gray (like a battleship) and you should not grass it because that would make you stand out more.

You should stay as low as possible but just high enough to see what is coming. Do you flag? Flagging for divers is very effective, but you don't wave the flag, you flick it when the ducks are at a distance to ge ttheir attention - no flagging when they are coming at you.