How close do you put your dek's

Duck hunting for diver species like Canvasbacks, Redheads, Ringnecks, Eiders, Goldeneye and other diver ducks.

Moderators: jamesmc, crewchief252, LayedOut, Dep6

How close do you put your dek's

Postby PnR_Productions » Tue Oct 01, 2013 4:07 pm

Just like the title said: how close do you guys put your dek's when diver hunting? I basically just got into diver hunting big time last year and me and my buddies have about 18doz dek's to throw out of a mixed bad of divers and mallards, along with 2 long lines of can's. I've been looking at some pictures and it seems like a lot of people are putting their dek's almost on top of each other.. for puddlers i've always tried to keep the dek's at least 3 to 6 ft apart but i guess i'm pretty new to divers. Also when you throw out mixed spreads with divers and puddlers do you just mix them all together?
Thanks for your help guys
P&R Productions
2013 Count:
Too many to count ;)
Would someone please pay me to hunt cuz this college stuff takes up to much hunting time!
PnR_Productions
hunter

Re: How close do you put your dek's

Postby Nelliboy2 » Tue Oct 01, 2013 4:15 pm

If im wading I will ball up a section of my decoys, maybe 6' apart then I expand outward and constently spreading my blocks out more and more till about 10-12 feet appart. I usually try to make huge looking spreads as thats what birds usually do in my area. I also try to keep puddlers and divers apart if I'm on shore, layout I mix them.

Long lines I am still trying to figaure out the most natural way to go about spacing them. I run gang lines which allows me to space out my blocks however far I want. I try to space out the first half pretty far and then I group them up the closer I get to the end. I try to keep my lines within 10-20 feet of each other.

I think this year in front of the layouts I am going to run my lines perpendictualer to the wind. then through singles on the down wind side to break up the boxy look.