diver dekes

Duck hunting for diver species like Canvasbacks, Redheads, Ringnecks, Eiders, Goldeneye and other diver ducks.

Moderators: jamesmc, LayedOut, Dep6, crewchief252

diver dekes

Postby southpaw92 » Tue Oct 08, 2013 8:00 am

okay guys im kinda new to waterfowling (like 3 years now) and i want to get into divers... what do i need for dekes 1 dozen 4 dozen ?? how many and do i get buffie dekes or red heads or golden eye.... rig them all on the same line or no????

the kid
SouthPaw
Canada Geese 17
Mallards 8
GW Teal 12
Gadwalls 2
Pheasants 7
southpaw92
hunter

Re: diver dekes

Postby eagles2069 » Tue Oct 08, 2013 8:39 am

What ducks do you see in your area? Get those! In my area there are a lot of Buffies, Redheads, and Goldeneyes so I have more of them then any other. I think right now I have around 10 dozen divers and probably still on the small side for spread. That being said you can kill divers with just a handful. If you have old cheap decoys just repaint them. It's a super easy project to do. Do a search there are a lot of threads about repaints.
eagles2069
hunter

Postby ScaupHunter » Tue Oct 08, 2013 10:13 am

I know of guys who hunt over 4 or fewer decoys and kill birds. I have hunted over 8 blue bills and hammered limits. Big numbers of decoys are not always the answer. Get a good mix of the birds you see and keep the GE's seperated from the rest of your decoys.
Bella's
Decoy Setting Pro Staff
Boat Operator Pro Staff
Duck Shooting Pro Staff
Warm Towel Pro Staff
Snack Supply Pro Staff

He works for free! Who's the B now?
ScaupHunter
hunter

Postby koonce727 » Tue Oct 08, 2013 5:17 pm

Like the other fellas get what birds you have in your area. Can't go wrong with cans and bills. But if you do go that route get a couple buffie and a couple eyes to set off to the side. Those two species seem to be the most finicky on wanting to decoy to there own species, not always but more so than bills, cans and redheads.