Christmas bay duck hunting texas

Duck hunting for diver species like Canvasbacks, Redheads, Ringnecks, Eiders, Goldeneye and other diver ducks.

Moderators: jamesmc, LayedOut, Dep6, crewchief252

Christmas bay duck hunting texas

Postby duckhuntingkidd » Tue Nov 12, 2013 6:36 am

Hello im pretty new to duck hunting and ive been hunting christmas bay for a little while, i was wondering if anyone else has hunted their this year and done any good, thanks
duckhuntingkidd
hunter

Re: Christmas bay duck hunting texas

Postby Hello Duck » Sun Nov 17, 2013 6:14 pm

I have been hunting bastrop bayou. I have heard a lot of shots coming from the cox lake and bay areas. I haven't hunted the bay mainly because there is not enough cover for my boat. A fisherman told me that he saw some boats hunting up the entrance the alligator lake. I thought it was illegal there, but maybe not. How has Christmas bay been? I hear there are some good redheads out there
Hello Duck
Newb

Postby Ricochet83 » Wed Nov 20, 2013 2:39 pm

i am trying to head to christmas bay to do some scouting for a hunt next weekend anybody got any advice on where would be some good areas to start looking
Ricochet83
Newb

Postby duckhuntingkidd » Wed Nov 20, 2013 8:09 pm

We have only killed only a couple ducks total for the season going every weekend so far, their are lots of redheads! and i would suggest you checking out the kayak launch area first, theirs a blind you can see at the end of the point out their and it can be very good on a cold morning. Just drive your truck up the kayak launch road, get out and youll see it. Good Luck!
duckhuntingkidd
hunter

Postby Ricochet83 » Thu Nov 21, 2013 6:10 am

Ok I appreciate that. However since I have not been there yet where is the kayak launch area? Also I will be launching my 12 foot john boat I won't have any problems in there with depth or anything will I?
Ricochet83
Newb

Postby duckhuntingkidd » Thu Nov 21, 2013 9:08 pm