Diver Spread Help!

Duck hunting for diver species like Canvasbacks, Redheads, Ringnecks, Eiders, Goldeneye and other diver ducks.

Moderators: jamesmc, LayedOut, Dep6, crewchief252

Diver Spread Help!

Postby Fowlplay13 » Tue Jan 07, 2014 1:24 pm

I'm a new member of the forum but have been lurking around doing a lot of reading and learning before joining but I have a couple of questions about diver spreads. I have been ducking hunting for about 2 years now but use to duck hunt in S FL with a couple of friends but now I am up in Tallahassee and have been doing it a lot more on my own but not having a lot of luck.

Before I get told to use the search or go read another thread I will just say that I have been and learned a lot of good things, I am more so looking for some advice and critique for my spread. Between myself and 2 friends we have about 60 dekes consisting of 3 dozen ringnecks, 6 pintails, a dozen mixed BWT/GWT, and some woodies. The last couple times we have been out we have been using only the ringnecks and pintails. I made a long line of about 2 dozen ringneck which I set to one side of our spread and this led up to a small circle of ringers of about 5 to 8. Then about 10-15 yards away I set the rest of the ringnecks in a circle with the pintails mixed in and off to the side.

The problem is we have had flocks fly by just out of range and not decoy in, and also had a flock of reds land at the edge of the long line (which is about 40 yards long). We can't figure out how to get them to decoy in or atleast come into range. we debated buying some redhead decoys (probably a dozen) and adding them into the mix, will this help out?

Also, is there a better way to set up our decoys? I guess it's a J shape of sorts currently.

Currently only using 1 long line of 24 dekes, would 2 long lines of 12 next to each other be better?

If I buy the red decoys should I set them in a long line next to the ringnecks?

Any advice is greatly appreciated!
Fowlplay13
hunter