Re: Presque Isle, Erie PA: diver duck rigging for newbie

Duck hunting for diver species like Canvasbacks, Redheads, Ringnecks, Eiders, Goldeneye and other diver ducks.

Moderators: jamesmc, crewchief252, LayedOut, Dep6

Postby squidooster » Mon Jan 13, 2014 10:13 pm

I am very new to duck hunting in general, I went out 20 years ago with others and loved it, but never had a chance to get into it until now. I have two daughters that I want to expose to the outdoors and other than tagging along spring turkey hunting, they don't care for deer, or other forms. A good day for me would be watching the sun come up over the lake and getting more time outdoors with them, and of course some ducks would help.

In December I went out 6 times around Presque Isle and gave it my best rookie shot with 12 old mallard dekes I had. I was mostly just studying, checking out different blinds, sets and trying to see what other hunters were doing - but there weren't many hunters out there and I didn't want to intrude. My daughters really enjoyed it, even in 5 degree weather :) So now I am going full bore, reading everything I can, duck books, this awesome forum, etc. I have 6 friends that are excited to learn this and we are each going in for a blind draw next season. We all hunt together already but 5 of the 6 have never waterfowl hunted.

My gear so far...

Puddle
- 24 mallards, 6 drake, 6 hen
- 6 black - 4 drake, 2 hen
- 6 wood - 4 drake, 2 hen
- 1 mallard winduk

4 Geese

Diving
- 6 oversize buffleheads - drakes
- 6 oversize blue bill - drakes
- 6 overside canvas back - drakes
- 1 bluebill winduk