Beaver tail final attack

Duck hunting for diver species like Canvasbacks, Redheads, Ringnecks, Eiders, Goldeneye and other diver ducks.

Moderators: jamesmc, crewchief252, LayedOut, Dep6

Beaver tail final attack

Postby Pintailer » Fri Mar 21, 2014 8:48 pm

Anyone have one? Do they do ok with a small chop on the sound? Looking to get one for diver hunting in eastern nc. Any info or pics Is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Pintailer
Last edited by Pintailer on Sun Mar 23, 2014 6:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
Pintailer
hunter

Re: Beaver tail final attack

Postby olewaki » Sat Mar 22, 2014 9:15 pm

HI Pintail!

My buddy and I have been using a final attack boat for 5 years on a big freshwater lake in a somewhat protected bays. It is really stable, but likely more visible to the ducks than a real layout boat. We c-clamp a splash guard on the motor mount as waves near a foot high can splash against the flat transom of the boat with water being thrown high into the air and all over you. It's just a piece of 3/8" plywood cut 8" wide X the width of the boat. We rounded the outer ends a little too. This is screwed at a right angle to a chunk of 2x4 to lower it to even with the deck level of the boat. The 2X4 is what is c-clamped to the motor mount.

Be sure that rear anchor is big enough to hold the tender (1860 jon boat)and final attack boat in a big blow. The rear anchor line needs a big float (bumper)say 10 feet behind the boat. We clip to a big eye bolt that runs through the motor mount. We use a mushroom anchor for the bow of the attack boat. Don't skip this bow anchor or you make get turned sideways and swamped by a big wave.

We have also added more foam floatation as ours came with very little in it.

I'd add photos if I knew how! We run 5 - 120 ft. long lines (dozen deeks each) and another 3 dozen singles that we store in the attack boat strapped across the bow of the tender. Water depth varies from 12-18 deep.

Good luck!

Olewaki