Looking for a mentor...

A place where you can find Arkansas duck hunting information in the heart and soul of ducking hunting of the US.

Moderators: steve-o, greenster, whisperin' duck, brassass

Looking for a mentor...

Postby New2DuckHunting » Wed Jul 11, 2012 4:51 pm

Unless it wasn't obvious by my handle I am new to the sport. I am looking for someone to teach me all they know about duck hunting this season. I grew up in central Arkansas and duck hunting wasn't something my family and friends done...I went on two guided hunts last year and enjoyed the hell out of it. I live in White county not too far from Hurricane so hopefully someone that hunts there regularly wouldn't mind me tagging along. Maybe someone who is getting up in age and can't really hunt safely by themselves any longer or someone who just doesn't have anyone else to hunt with.

I need to know it all down to the basics...how to call, when to call, why to call. What you look for when your scouting...when you start scouting. Where to place decoys and why. I pretty much know nothing about duck hunting other than how to knock a bird out of the sky...I can do that with the best of em.

I'm not what most would consider a douche bag and I am pretty easy going guy. Getting close to my 30's and would like to get to going on my own before my son gets old enough to go so I can take him when he's ready. Not looking for a bunch of free honey holes and ducks...just want to know how to play the game. I don't mind putting in the work...hauling decoys...scouting. Hell I don't even mind paying a little. Buying breakfast after the hunts...gas in the boat...shells...etc.

So...can anybody help?
New2DuckHunting
hunter

Re: Looking for a mentor...

Postby jdr » Thu Jul 12, 2012 7:27 pm

Where you located at?
jdr
hunter

Looking for a mentor...

Postby New2DuckHunting » Thu Jul 12, 2012 8:55 pm

Searcy
New2DuckHunting
hunter

Postby jdr » Mon Jul 16, 2012 9:35 am