California Duck Hunting

Duck hunting in California topics include: California duck hunting trips, the past hunting seasons, and share information about California duck hunting guides.

Moderators: #1wingnut, PinTeal, finsnfeathershunter, duckman2000

California Duck Hunting

Postby Duckmeat » Wed Nov 23, 2005 7:53 pm

Hello everyone. Im new to the sight and to say the least im impressed as hell. I just arrived in California from Montana. Im active duty Air Force and was wandering if there are any good public hunting areas around Yuba City. Ive asked a few farmers for permission to use their fields and had the door slammed in my face. Not sure why but they are dead set against it. I know in Montana i had to shoot geese and ducks in self defense cuz there were so many of them. Im hopin this will be a similar experience. My co-worker and i live, breath, and eat waterfowl hunting so we are looking to get started ASAP. Any pointers you could provide would be appreciated. Anyone willing to get together and drop some waterfowl, i have a dog and will travel. (hes 11 now but he still has the heart and energy). Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

Paul
Duckmeat
hunter

Postby #1wingnut » Wed Nov 23, 2005 8:14 pm

Duckmeat,
Let me start by saying welcome to the forum and to california :welcome:

Then let me tell you, you are in the HART of the california duck country
there are several of our best refuges right near you. and dont give up on asking farmers. it might help if you asked in your uniform :yes:
you might find a farmer with a soft spot for the inlisted.

I've been doing a lot of work out at Beale on the Global Hawk project.
I've been working on the hangers.
Anyway you can get the base commander to let us shoot that pond
by the wheatland gate. :toofunny: I see a ton of Honkers out there.
I know there are other ponds out there that would be great. I just have not had the guts to bring my shotgun to work, that might be a little DANGEROUS :mrgreen: