Rookie Waterfowler/Mendota 2013-14

Duck hunting in California topics include: California duck hunting trips, the past hunting seasons, and share information about California duck hunting guides.

Moderators: #1wingnut, finsnfeathershunter, duckman2000, PinTeal

Rookie Waterfowler/Mendota 2013-14

Postby Bmaybee » Wed Sep 25, 2013 3:35 pm

Hey everyone, newbie here.

Don't worry I don't want any X marks the spots or inside secrets or what parking lot to hit. But I would like a little bit of guidance. I've never been out before, anywhere. I don't know what to expect. But here is what I plan:

-To NOT go opening weekend. I would like to avoid all of that drama. My first trip out will probably be late October.

-To reserve a spot online, show up whenever Friday night or early Saturday, and "walk the grounds" with my dog (also his first hunt). If we find a spot to hunker down or not, I don't care. If we get birds I don't care.

-To show up and just witness/experience the area. And hopefully by Sat night pick a spot to try Sunday morning.

-As a rookie I want to stay out of the way, keep my calls to myself and the empty (or hopefully bird occupied) air, and work my dog.

-Hopefully get a bird or two. This is the closest hunting area to where I live, I plan on many seasons there in the future, so I want to do it right.

That's it.

Now if anyone could throw me a bone, here or on PM about how to make my adventure more enjoyable or smooth that'd be great. But don't feel you need to drop secrets. Give a man a fish he'll eat for a day, teach a man to fish and you know the rest.
Bmaybee
hunter

Re: Rookie Waterfowler/Mendota 2013-14

Postby sutterduckhunter » Wed Sep 25, 2013 4:59 pm

It sure sounds like you have the right idea! :welcome:
Just walk and sit, listen, see what you see. Watch out for Rattlesnakes, they are all over at Mendota. Good luck!
sutterduckhunter
hunter

Postby ditchbanker » Wed Sep 25, 2013 5:04 pm

:welcome: Lots of views but no replies