Delta

Duck hunting in California topics include: California duck hunting trips, the past hunting seasons, and share information about California duck hunting guides.

Moderators: #1wingnut, PinTeal, finsnfeathershunter, duckman2000

Delta

Postby Laughing Malard » Tue Dec 10, 2013 3:10 am

I am new to this chat board but have a boat and want to hunt the delta. I hear lots of stories about locals being territorial etc... I know legally any blind is fair game but I couldn't jump in someone else's hard work, that just doesn't seem right. My boat is pretty good so I can go pretty much anywhere. Not looking for any specifics but any input on a starting point would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you
Laughing Malard
hunter

Re: Delta

Postby norcalweaz » Tue Dec 10, 2013 9:29 am

Your gonna get a load of crap for this thread. Launch anywhere and hunt an afternoon. Watch the tides and be safe. Hopefully shoot some birds too.
norcalweaz
hunter

Postby Portuguese Duck Slayer » Tue Dec 10, 2013 11:15 am

norcalweaz wrote:Your gonna get a load of crap for this thread. Launch anywhere and hunt an afternoon. Watch the tides and be safe. Hopefully shoot some birds too.

Unfortunately true. As learning any area..... do it during the daylight. First few trips birds are a bonus.
Portuguese Duck Slayer
hunter

Postby rm85 » Tue Dec 10, 2013 11:44 am

What part of the delta do you wanna hunt
rm85
hunter

Postby #1wingnut » Tue Dec 10, 2013 5:08 pm

Welcome to the jungle. :welcome:
The best way to learn the delta is to burn gas. Get yourself a good delta map. those water proof ones they sell at the marinas are great. you can find a list of boat launch's on the Fish and game web site. mark em on your map. I use google earth. you can pick it up on your smart phones. check the area out in the day light and keep an eye on the tide. the best and easiest tide table I have found is... http://www.saltwatertides.com/dynamic.d ... sites.html