WWII-Japanese Internment Camps

Duck hunting in California topics include: California duck hunting trips, the past hunting seasons, and share information about California duck hunting guides.

Moderators: #1wingnut, duckman2000, PinTeal, finsnfeathershunter

WWII-Japanese Internment Camps

Postby ohioboy » Mon Feb 17, 2014 7:19 pm

I know this is a shot in the dark, but it is a better one than asking around here.

I am a US History teacher in Montgomery County, Maryland (that is how we split them up around here). I am currently teaching World War Two, and would be interested in someone sharing with me a picture, maybe more if possible, of a family member or friend that was sent to the Internment Camps during the war. I am assuming emailing a scanned picture would be the easiest way.

Before you say "Google it!", I can do that, but that does not leave the same impression that a personal picture with a story will.

So, if you have one, I would love for you to shoot me a PM. Thanks.

ohioboy (ryan)
ohioboy
hunter

Re: WWII-Japanese Internment Camps

Postby Butta boom » Mon Feb 17, 2014 8:41 pm

Before you ask for pictures of the interned Japanese, how many pictures of the eighteen year old boys that were serving their country, that were killed in a sneak attack on pearl harbor, are being used in the class.

Interned Japanese had weeks warning before they were interned, we would have enjoyed that same lead time. The interned Japanese that had property were treated well by their neighbors. The farmers in my area took care of those farms, and in many cases were returned to them after the war.

If the purpose of your curriculum is to dishonor our behavior in the second world war, you should be removed from any contact with our youth, let alone be a teacher.

For those of us that lost family in that war, the wounds are healed, but the distortion of history is intolerable.
Butta boom
hunter

Postby quack-attack » Mon Feb 17, 2014 9:01 pm