New to Waterfowl Help and Advice Please

If you are looking for the best duck hunting in Colorado, this is the place.

Moderator: dukhnter7

New to Waterfowl Help and Advice Please

Postby mwmjones » Mon Nov 29, 2010 2:07 pm

I am new to waterfowl hunting and was looking for any help and / or advice please.

My son and I have recently started up waterfowl hunting just about a month or so ago. We have been hunting Big Game and almost everything else here in Colorado but now have been bitten and have the obsession for ducks and geese.

We have tried hunting several places up and down and along the river and some small ponds near Ft Morgan, Brush and even up near the Crook area with limited success and now was wondering if anyone could help or advise what next steps would be appropriate.

So anything goes and we would be open for any ideas, suggestions, help and advice towards learning something new.

We have all the gear and would love the time spent with any other hunters interested in going together, new areas to check out and maybe try or just some where and how to's

Any help is greatly appreciated. Please feel free to either PM or contact me directly via e-mail as well.

Thanks-Michael
MWMJONES@AOL.COM
mwmjones
hunter

Re: New to Waterfowl Help and Advice Please

Postby duckbuddy » Fri Dec 03, 2010 8:46 pm

Michael
Dont expect to see a bag full of birds each trip. This sport is harder than it seems. The most important factor in taking ducks is staying still. Since you guys are new, are you anxious or constantly swinging your head as the ducks circle? Never move and have plenty of cover. I dont hunt public much anymore, but if you tell me where you go, ill give you my knowledge of the area and where the ducks should come from. Hit me up as the season goes on and we can share a spot on the river. I love hunting late in the season, but right now, Ill be chasing honkers till my calls fall apart.
DUCK HUNTING ITS NOT ABOUT THE BAG ITS ABOUT GETTING AWAY
duckbuddy