Hunting Standards

Discuss everything from issues in the region to Connecticut duck hunting.

Moderators: DUKHTR, MrCamoClad

Hunting Standards

Postby valleydrakes » Thu Dec 06, 2012 9:16 am

I have enjoyed reading this blog http://www.downeastduckhunter.com from time to time over the years. The most recent post on the blog made me question if it is right or sporting to shoot ducks on the pond. I am new to waterfowl hunting and don't pretend to know much about it. That's why I am throwing the question out for some feedback.

Until seeing this video, I would have thought most hunters didn't shoot ducks on the water but instead would flush them and then shoot them. I don't recall anybody telling me it was "wrong" to shoot ducks on the water so I cannot really explain why I have that perception. A video of the shoot can be seen at the blog post or at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Twfurs-21Uk.

I am not being critical of the blog post or the hunter. I simply do not know enough about duck hunting standards and I am eager for some feedback about it. Do CT regulations allow decoys to be left in the water without anyone hunting over them?
valleydrakes
hunter

Re: Hunting Standards

Postby SquadIrons » Thu Dec 06, 2012 2:24 pm

I try my best to shoot while they are off the water. If they get in and land without me looking I'll take them on the water, but usually if they swim in I'll flush them. Or at least try to. I've had times where I popped up to flush them and shoot and they just swim away, they didn't fly. If that's the case then I'll shoot them on the water, also.
SquadIrons
hunter

Postby falcon » Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:05 pm