New Areas to Scout

Discuss everything from issues in the region to Connecticut duck hunting.

Moderators: DUKHTR, MrCamoClad

New Areas to Scout

Postby UGADawg » Wed Dec 19, 2012 2:59 pm

All,

Looking to scout a few new areas in CT for waterfowl. Wondering if anyone knows anything about the following areas.

1. Lord Cove area near Essex Village and Old Saybrook
2. Pattaconk Resevoir in Cockaponset State Forest
3. Quinnipiac River Marsh Wildlife Area north of New Haven
4. Cromwell Meadows - Looking for a good access point.

Not a noob here, I put in my time - just looking for some guidance.
UGADawg
hunter

Re: New Areas to Scout

Postby sbeIICT » Wed Dec 19, 2012 3:59 pm

Oh man :welcome:

did you stumble upon these unknown areas by word of mouth or on the DEP public lands page?

Never heard of any of them
Dusty Bottoms
sbeIICT
hunter

Postby UGADawg » Wed Dec 19, 2012 4:02 pm

If you know what looks ducky and where birds like to be then google earth is your BEST friend.
UGADawg
hunter

Postby sbeIICT » Wed Dec 19, 2012 4:06 pm

if you cant spot the sucker in the room...well, sir, you are the sucker. :grooving:
Dusty Bottoms
sbeIICT
hunter

Postby UGADawg » Thu Dec 20, 2012 7:58 am

Thanks for your help.
UGADawg
hunter

Postby toolmaker » Thu Dec 20, 2012 3:57 pm

UGADawg wrote:All,

Looking to scout a few new areas in CT for waterfowl. Wondering if anyone knows anything about the following areas.

1. Lord Cove area near Essex Village and Old Saybrook
2. Pattaconk Resevoir in Cockaponset State Forest
3. Quinnipiac River Marsh Wildlife Area north of New Haven
4. Cromwell Meadows - Looking for a good access point.

the Qinn is a great place to hunt...it isnt easy to access, and holds birds all season especially the opener, and it gets a lot of pressure early. if you look on satelite sites and see great ducky looking spots...then its a good bet they will hold ducks....we all know if a spot looks ducky, there is a reason!