Ducks This Weekend

Discuss everything from issues in the region to Connecticut duck hunting.

Moderators: DUKHTR, MrCamoClad

Ducks This Weekend

Postby BradleySt » Thu Oct 13, 2005 3:15 pm

I'm new to Connecticut hunting and live in New Haven. Can anyone recommend some good public land to go hunting this weekend? I have a canoe and a dog that won't pay much attention to me. I read somewhere that the Wheeler Wildlife Management Area is supposed to be good. Are there ducks around yet? I haven't really heard any, but I haven't done much scouting.

Also -- does anyone know where to go for state-stocked pheasants? I can't figure out where the state does its stocking and when. I'd love to give that a go this weekend if there's no hope for the ducks.

Thanks!
BradleySt
Newb

Ducks Are Here

Postby jem » Sun Oct 16, 2005 6:49 pm

Hi,

The ducks are definitely here. I went with my guide yesterday on private land. Our party got 10 geese, 1 mallard drake and 2 mallard hens.

Boy are those mallards fast. New 870 with 3 1/2" 12 gauge magnum dropped em pretty good.

I don't know anything about public lands though.

You probably want to get out there quick because the season is pretty short.
John Majkowski
jem
hunter

Postby on duck call » Sun Oct 16, 2005 7:49 pm

Ducks are here and spread out with all the rain. Got 8 birds opening day with some friends. Black, pair of mallards 4 teal and a female wigeon. Bad shooting with the heavy rain falling on your face can throw your shooting off.
on duck call
hunter

Postby DUKHTR » Mon Oct 17, 2005 8:19 am