Hunting from boat

Topics on New York hunting on the Delaware river to discuss, Delaware duck hunting, tactics and more.

Moderator: Daffy Ducking

Hunting from boat

Postby nachosgrande » Tue Sep 25, 2012 2:51 pm

So this is my first year duck hunting and I checked every waterfowl map on public lands in the state and it seems you can only hunt from the state blinds. Is there anywhere in the state I can hunt from my boat? This is how my buddies do it in Jersey. Thanks in advance.
nachosgrande
Newb

Re: Hunting from boat

Postby EyeHuntFowl » Wed Sep 26, 2012 5:34 am

http://regulations.delaware.gov/AdminCo ... #TopOfPage

2.3 Hunting from Boats.

2.3.1 Distance from Blinds. During the season for the hunting of migratory waterfowl, it shall be unlawful for any person to hunt from a boat of any kind that is within 1500 feet of an established blind, except that:

2.3.1.1 Any person may use a boat to tend lawfully set traps for fur-bearing wildlife;

2.3.1.2 Any person may retrieve crippled waterfowl by the use of a boat in accordance with federal regulations;

2.3.1.3 Any person may use a boat for transportation to and from an established blind lawfully used by such person;

2.3.1.4 Any person may hunt from a boat that is firmly secured and enclosed in an established blind.

2.3.2 Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection 2.2.1 of this section, any person may hunt migratory waterfowl within 1500 feet of an established blind, from a boat, with permission of the blind owner.

2.3.3 Gunning Rigs.

2.3.3.1 During the season for hunting migratory waterfowl, it shall be unlawful for any person to hunt within 900 feet of the shoreline (high tide line) of the Delaware River and Bay, between the Appoquinimink River and the Smyrna River, without written permission of the closest adjoining landowner(s).