looking for duck hunters near jacksonville

Discuss Florida duck hunting with other hunters alike.

Moderators: hunt-chessies, badandy970, BigBend, Belly up dux

looking for duck hunters near jacksonville

Postby japrxfan » Thu May 25, 2006 9:12 pm

i'd like to open with i'm relatively new to florida. i'm in the navy and i spent eight years hunting ducks in washington before i enlisted. i'm just looking for locals in the area that know their way around. i'm going crazy not hunting. i have some gear. waders, jacket, remington 870, calls, and looking into buying a four rivers layout boat in savannah, ga. need help on decoy selection and info on diver and puddle hunting areas if there are any. thanks.
japrxfan
hunter

Postby jedisme » Fri May 26, 2006 5:18 am

whew, wish i could i could help ya...i'm way west of ya goodluck!
jedisme
hunter

Postby kg4yus » Fri May 26, 2006 9:33 pm

Welcome to Florida :salude:

I am not in Jax but am about 1.5 hrs south on Lake George.
Blackjacks and a few Bills can be here We get a few Puddlers here as well. From a Pintail here and there, occasional Widgeon, and Teal. Woodducks are thick like mosquitos.

Guana River Wildlife Management Area is just a short hop from you on A1A in Ponte Vedra. You will be restricted to 10HP or less in the WMA.
Check out www.myfwc.com for more info on some of the other areas open to hunting in the state.

Give me a shout if you get down this way.
Mossy Oak-Waterfowl Prostaff
Buck Gardner-Field Staff
Vice Chair- CFL Delta Waterfowl
Regional Director United Waterfowlers
FFWCC Hunter Safety Area Coordinator
kg4yus
hunter

Postby japrxfan » Fri May 26, 2006 11:15 pm

i can't seem to find anyone but a handful of of people that know what the h*ll they're talking about, and even fewer that have the same schedule then me. i'm going crazy guys please come to the rescue. this is my life. :help:
japrxfan
hunter

Postby jedisme » Sat May 27, 2006 7:33 am