New to Duck Hunting

Discuss Florida duck hunting with other hunters alike.

Moderators: hunt-chessies, badandy970, Belly up dux, BigBend

New to Duck Hunting

Postby Big-g77 » Tue Oct 23, 2012 9:00 pm

Im a beginner Duck hunter and I was wondering if there any tips that yall could give me. im also looking for a good duck boat with a mud motor.
Big-g77
hunter

New to Duck Hunting

Postby chris_k » Tue Oct 23, 2012 11:48 pm

1. Know your body of water and get very familiar with it.
2. Scout well ahead of season, and during the season.
3. Get to your spot early. Have many backup spots in case someone is there when you get there.
4. Set up well away from other hunters. If you can see the other hunter's decoys ... You are too close. 200-300 yards at a minimum.
5. Be nice to other hunters. Ask them questions at the boat ramp.
6. Don't shoot at birds that are past your shooting range. I like to kill my birds when they are 10-20 yards away.
7. Match the hatch. Use decoy species that match the bird you are hunting.
8. Grow a beard. Women like it.
9. Take duck hunting seriously. Do it to the best of your abilities and always try to better yourself as a hunter. Learn as much as you can!
Getcha Pull!
chris_k
hunter

Re: New to Duck Hunting

Postby waterdogds » Wed Oct 24, 2012 4:50 am

chris_k wrote:1. Know your body of water and get very familiar with it.
2. Scout well ahead of season, and during the season.
3. Get to your spot early. Have many backup spots in case someone is there when you get there.
4. Set up well away from other hunters. If you can see the other hunter's decoys ... You are too close. 200-300 yards at a minimum.
5. Be nice to other hunters. Ask them questions at the boat ramp.
6. Don't shoot at birds that are past your shooting range. I like to kill my birds when they are 10-20 yards away.
7. Match the hatch. Use decoy species that match the bird you are hunting.
8. Grow a beard. Women like it.