Questions on species

Discuss Florida duck hunting with other hunters alike.

Moderators: hunt-chessies, badandy970, BigBend, Belly up dux

Questions on species

Postby irishff727 » Wed Jan 30, 2013 12:26 pm

Ok was reading another thread where a guy got pissed at a newbie who couldnt or didn't properly indentify his ducks. So here is my question, I am totally New to duck hunting, I passed on doing any this year so I can acquire gear practice with my shotgun, figure out what tubes and ammo my gun likes for best pattern, learning stuff about calls or when not to call and read a few different books on iding ducks. Now I have done some scouting here and there and done my best not to piss anyone off and here is what I come up with, it is dam hard, for me anyway, to I'd ducks when they cone swoopin in almost feels like I am gonna miss them if I take a shot. So I have been trying to figure out easier way, flight patterns, decent and general facts. So what info do you all have to offer. I don't want to be one of the "black hoodie" that everyone on here seems to hate.
really? really?
irishff727
hunter

Re: Questions on species

Postby bdub » Wed Jan 30, 2013 1:12 pm

Im new to this also so take with a grain of salt, and any vets please correct me if i sound like a idiot. but what I did was learn what the majority of the birds are that you will be hunting in your area. For example i dont waist my time learning flight patterns of a halequin because I probly will never see one. Then the best thing to do is go out one morning and hide really really well. Get some binoculars out and watch them as they fly with the binoculars and after you ID them you can watch what they look like as they are flying from a distance. I spent about 3 days last year aftert the season doing this. Helped alot.
bdub
hunter

Postby BigBend » Wed Jan 30, 2013 2:18 pm