Newbie here looking for calling advice

Discuss Florida duck hunting with other hunters alike.

Moderators: hunt-chessies, badandy970, Belly up dux, BigBend

Newbie here looking for calling advice

Postby ballyhu » Thu Dec 12, 2013 6:45 am

Hey guys, I have just started hunting Lake Okeechobee from a go devil boat and motor I purchased a few months ago. I've hunted a couple days so far this season and really enjoy the whole deal. It's a beautiful area and there seem to be plenty of ducks when conditions are right. I grew up duck hunting in California's San Joaquin Valley 40 years ago and am having to learn the ropes all over again. My question relates to calling ducks. I'm aware that if you can't call properly you will do more harm than good. Fortunately my house is about a half mile away from an urban lake near West Palm Beach and I get a good steady stream of ducks flying right over the house early and late. I figure that if I get a couple of calls and practice on them I'm not going to do any damage since you can't shoot them anyway. I have a big pool and often have to shoo ducks out of it so a few decoys in it probably won't do any harm. So, the question is what type of call should I get and is there a CD or tape that I could purchase in order to learn how to call. I've got all the cabelas and prairie wings catalouges but haven't any idea where to start. I'd apreciate some advice. Thanks.
ballyhu
hunter

Re: Newbie here looking for calling advice

Postby Maysport » Thu Dec 12, 2013 8:34 am

Newbie,

You'll find that 95% of the calls sold are mallard calls ('quack'), while 99%+ of the ducks in Florida have a variation of a whistle - think teal, wood duck, pintail.

Very little calling at all is needed, and there is a lot of problem in public areas with people calling too much with a mallard call.