Duck Hunting Forum banner

New to Central Florida

1K views 17 replies 11 participants last post by  sbr01 
#1 ·
So I am pretty new to duck hunting and I live in the north Tampa area and am willing to drive an hour and a half to find birds. I am not asking for spots but i was wondering what i should look for when scouting and an idea of where to start. I have been looking around in the inverness area but a lot of the land is WMA and only allows hunting a few days of the season. Any help is appreciated!
Thanks

#2 ·
Anything with public access is pretty much free game. Get into an area you think looks good and watch birds starting at first light for an hour or so. If you don't see anything flying it ain't worth hunting. It's hard to say what to look for because I've seen areas that are super ducky devoid of ducks and areas where you wouldn't expect them loaded so you just gotta look HARD!!!!!!

#7 ·
spartan26 said:
So I am pretty new to duck hunting and I live in the north Tampa area and am willing to drive an hour and a half to find birds. I am not asking for spots but i was wondering what i should look for when scouting and an idea of where to start. I have been looking around in the inverness area but a lot of the land is WMA and only allows hunting a few days of the season. Any help is appreciated!
Thanks
Stay home. If you are setting a limit on how far you are willing to go, this is not the right hobby for you. Pick up crocheting.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#8 ·
Don't get discouraged first. 2nd Look for food / nesting location, types of ducks you observe flying anytime in your area, direction of flight travel, and time of day. Location to hunt will be mostly devoid of people or hard for most boats to get too. Coast may be best option for distance you want to travel. Perhaps north of Tampa coast line. Good luck! 2016 was my first season traveled 5 miles from home an have done nicely and learned a lot.

#9 ·
chris_k said:
spartan26 said:
Thanks